Generations of Quilters

Grammy at 18, soon to be  quilter extraordinaire

Grammy at 18, soon to be quilter extraordinaire

My grandmother, Patricia Ellen Foley McGrath (“Grammy”) was incredible at all hand-crafts. She could knit, sew, quilt, crochet… you name it, she could do it. A great cook and baker, too. She grew up in South Boston with a very eclectic, Irish mother. (Her mother dyed their toy poodles in holiday colors!)

Grammy & me, pool-side

Grammy & me, pool-side

 

 

Mother & Daughter: Patricia Ellen + Nancy Jean

Mother & Daughter: Patricia Ellen + Nancy Jean

Grammy’s quilts were typically more traditional, Amish-style. She could tackle the most difficult quilts: double-wedding ring, navigator’s compass; quilts I’m working up to.

Mom, me & my sister, T in utero :)

Mom, me & my sister, T in utero 🙂

 

Part of the inspiration for starting this blog is to document the quilts of my family; the quilts of Patricia Ellen, her daughter & my mother, Nancy Jean, my own, and whatever future generations join our quilting ranks. My mother’s Irish twin sister, Kimberly has begun quilting, and I’m hoping my Irish twin sister, Tiffany will eventually catch the quilting bug, too!

Auntie Kimmie & me

Auntie Kimmie & me

So, check in often to see what kinds of quilts, old & new, I’ve discovered or created.

