The Stars in Our Sky

Stars in Our Sky

Stars in Our Sky

I discovered an old mix CD that my sister, T made me for the Fall of 2005 and I’ve been playing it the past two weeks. It’s a mix that goes heavy on the Garden State soundtrack, interspersed with Modest Mouse, Cake, Ben Kweller. There’s two really random tracks on the mix: Mozart’s choral piece, “Ave Verum Corpus” and an a cappella “O Death” from the O Brother Where Art Thou soundtrack. Funny how, throwing this mix on during my commute & bopping around the Portsmouth/Kittery area, I still know all the words to these songs a decade later. Music really does go deep, whether it’s a ridiculous Cake song about sleeping or the iconic Simon & Garfunkel “America.” 

Cookie Work

Cookie Work

So, Friday night with a glass (I mean, goblet) of wine, I crafted myself a mix CD for March 2014, High Fidelity style:

1. Ballad of El Goodo – Big Star

2. Hey Hey What Can I Do – Led Zeppelin

3. If I Needed You – Townes Van Zandt

4. Never Too Close – Gordon Lightfoot

5. Close to Me – The Cure

Gift Fox Quilts6. Long May You Run – the Stills-Young Band

7. Betty Davis Eyes – Kim Carnes

8. Day After Day – Badfinger

9. Team – Lorde

Gift Fox Quilts

10. Avant Gardener – Courtney Barnett

11. Who Can It Be Now (acoustic) – Colin Hay

12. Cavalry – Mandolin Orange

13. Bermuda Highway – My Morning Jacket

Gift Fox QuiltsHappy March 2014, everyone!

