Starburst Anniversary Quilt

Center Starburst Quilt Gift Fox QuiltsHalf-triangle blocks are true magic. They are so simple to build, but pack such a visual punch. Originally, I was following this pattern by Lemon Squeezy Home, but began to deviate from it after I built the center star block. This was partly because I wanted to incorporate more fabrics, but also some “Jess Math” factored into the decision.

Gift Fox Quilts Jess Feldman

This folky sky quilt was created as an anniversary gift for my poet-friend Hannah Ingram and her wife Colleen Arnerich. I used some yarn-dyed and soft denim-looking blues and yellows as the base, which gave me some space to add in my favorite busy prints. (I especially loved the blue thistle print from Cotton + Steel!)

Gift Fox Quilts Jess Feldman

Around the center starburst, I created scrappy, subway tile-inspired borders. I jazzed up edges of the quilt with bear claw corners, which I now want to do on every quilt because just look at them!

Gift Fox Quilts Jess Feldman

For the hand-quilting, I used white thread to capture a sashiko embroidery look around the star. I was able to tackle a lot of hand-quilting and still make my deadline, but I always wish I had more time for it.

Gift Fox Quilts Jess Feldman

It’s cooling off here in the city, which calls for a new quilt project to keep warm under. I’m scrolling through my Pinterest board trying to decide what to dig into next…

Also if you’re seeking some quilting inspiration, I’ve been getting into Abby Glassenberg’s podcast While She Naps. Highly recommend the episode where she interviews quilter Thomas Knauer.

(Note: A portion of this sale went to GLSEN, an organization that works to create safe schools for all regardless of gender identity or sexual orientation.)